COVID-19: The CREGÉS takes action

CREGÉS COVID-19 INTERVIEWS

A series of short interviews with members of the Centre for Research and Expertise in Social Gerontology (CREGÉS) on the on the social issues of ageing in the context of the coronavirus pandemic. These interviews are hosted by Mélanie Couture, Institutional researcher at CREGÉS.

Soutenir les personnes âgées endeuillées

With Valérie Bourgeois-Guérin

In this first edition of CREGÉS COVID-19 INTERVIEWS, we will focus on how to support older adults in grieving situations. We will explore the challenges our grieving older adults and our practitioners in this particular context as well as the solutions and resources that can be used to provide support.

Mistreatment of residents in long term care facilities.

With Sarita Israel

In this second edition of CREGÉS COVID-19 INTERVIEWS, we will explore this delicate issue, which has been subject of much attention in the media recently. We will adress how the pandemic has pushed this issue into the forefront as well as explore possible solutions to counter mistreatment of older adults in this care context.

INITIATIVES FROM OUR MEMBERS

COVID-19 exchange platform (private Facebook group).

Under the initiative of CREGÉS researcher Hélène Carbonneau, , the Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières and l'Appui pour les proches aidants d'aînés created a Facebook group, to be a COVID-19 exchange platform for community practitioners. This group will allow its members to share inspiring practices and innovations in community support for older adults, people with disabilities, caregivers, or vulnerable populations.

COVID-19 Resource Directory: Older adults and Caregivers of older adults.

Website for archiving content shared within the "COVID-19 Exchange Platform". Find in a tab the content relevant to older adults and caregivers of older adults in loss of autonomy. A grant from the Quebec Network for Research on Aging (RQRV) was awarded to several CREGÉS members to evaluate these initiatives: Hélène Carbonneau (principal researcher), Sophie Éthier, Mélanie Couture, Ginette Aubin, Sébastien Grenier, Valérie Poulin and Martin Caouette (co-researchers).

WEBINARS WITH OUR MEMBERS

Caring for Persons with Dementia in the Context of COVID 19: Navigating Stress, Loss and Grief.

Organized by the Alzheimer Groupe -AGI, this webinar with Tamara Sussman that take place on June 2, 2020 aims to reflect on the unique challenges faced by those who support people with dementia and discuss strategies to manage the inevitable stress, loss and grief associated with this essential role.

Long-Term Care Policy Under the Microscope: A conversation with Patrik Marier.

Organized by the McGill Institute for the Study of Canada (MISC) and the CREGÉS, this webinar with Patrik Marier, in conversation with Daniel Béland took place on June 16, 2020. This webinar complements the article COVID-19 and Long-Term Care Policy for Older People. .

ARTICLES IN PEER-REVIEWED JOURNALS

COVID-19 and long-term care policy for older people in Canada.

Béland, D. & Marier, P. (2020). Journal of Aging & Social Policy, 1-7.

In this article, the authors stress recent developments in Quebec, where a tragedy in a long-term care facility acts as a dramatic milestone. It exposes the problems facing long-term care facilities, considering the existing policy legacies and the possibility of this event facilitating comprehensive policy reforms in the wake of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Ageism and COVID-19: What does our society’s response say about us?

Fraser, S., Lagacé, M., Bongué B., Ndeye, N., Guyot, J., Bechard, L., Garcia, L., Taler, V., CCNA Social Inclusion and Stigma Working Group, Adam, S., Beaulieu, M., D Bergeron, C., Boudjemadi, V., Desmette, D., Donizzetti, A. R, Éthier, S., Garon,S., Gillis, M., Levasseur, M., Lortie-Lussier, M., Marier, P., Robitaille, A., Sawchuk, K., Lafontaine, C. & Tougas F. (2020). Age and Ageing. Under Press.

This commentary highlights the ageism which emerged during the COVID-19 pandemic. Over 20 international researchers in the field of aging have contributed to this document.

ARTICLES IN NON PEER-REVIEWED JOURNALS

Les soins de longue durée sous la loupe.

Marier, P. & Béland, D. (2020). Options Politiques. Dossier : La pandémie de coronavirus : la réponse du Canada.

In this article, the authors point out that it took a crisis of unprecedented proportions for the living conditions of older adults in long-term care facilities to mobilize the political leadership. They note the importance of developing a more social and deinstitutionalized vision of long-term care and, from a comparative perspective, they address the issue of provincial choices in long-term care.

COVID-19 : Le CREGÉS se mobilise

CAPSULES CREGÉS COVID-19

Série de courtes capsules vidéo avec les membres du Centre de recherche et d'expertise en gérontologie sociale (CREGÉS) sur les enjeux sociaux du vieillissement dans le contexte de pandémie de coronavirus. Ces capsules sont animée par Mélanie Couture, chercheure d'établissement au CREGÉS.

Soutenir les personnes âgées endeuillées.

Avec Valérie Bourgeois-Guérin

Dans cette première édition des CAPSULES CREGÉS COVID-19, nous allons nous pencher sur comment soutenir les personnes aînées qui vivent une situation de deuil. Nous allons explorer les enjeux difficiles que vivent nos aînés endeuillées et nos intervenants dans ce contexte particulier ainsi que les solutions et ressources qui peuvent être mises à contribution pour offrir du soutien.

Mistreatment of residents in long term care facilities.

Avec Sarita Israel

Dans cette seconde édition des CAPSULES CREGÉS COVID-19, nous allons explorer le sujet délicat de la maltraitance des résidents dans les établissements de soins de longue durée, dont on a beaucoup entendu parler dans les médias. Nous aborderons comment la pandémie l'a mise au premier plan ainsi que les solutions possibles pour contrer la maltraitance des personnes aînées dans ce contexte de soins.

INITIATIVES DE NOS MEMBRES

Communauté d'échange COVID-19 (Groupe Privé Facebook).

Sous l’initiative d'Hélène Carbonneau, chercheure au CREGÉS, l'Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières et l'Appui pour les proches aidants d'aînés ont créé un groupe Facebook, qui se veut une communauté d'échange COVID-19 pour soutenir les intervenants et partager des pratiques inspirantes en soutien communautaire auprès des clientèles aînées, handicapées, proches aidantes ou vulnérables.

Répertoire de ressources COVID-19 : Aînés et Proches aidants d'aînés.

Site web d'archivage des contenus partagés au sein de la ''Communauté d'échange COVID-19''. Retrouvez dans un onglet le contenu pertinent aux personnes âgées ainsi qu'au proches aidants d'aînés en perte d'autonomie. Soulignons qu'une subvention du Réseau québécois de recherche sur le vieillissement (RQRV) a été octroyé à plusieurs membres du CREGÉS pour faire l'évaluation de ces initiatives : Hélène Carbonneau (chercheure principale), Sophie Éthier, Mélanie Couture, Ginette Aubin, Sébastien Grenier, Valérie Poulin et Martin Caouette (co-chercheurs).

WEBINAIRES AVEC NOS MEMBRES

Caring for Persons with Dementia in the Context of COVID 19: Navigating Stress, Loss and Grief.

Organisé par Alzheimer Groupe - AGI, ce webinaire avec Tamara Sussman, chercheure au CREGÉS, avait lieu le 2 juin 2020 et visait à réfléchir aux problèmes uniques rencontrés par les personnes qui soutiennent les personnes atteintes de démence et discuter des stratégies pour gérer le stress, la perte et le deuil inévitables associés à ce rôle essentiel.

Les soins de longue durée sous la loupe : une conversation avec Patrik Marier.

Organisé par l'Institut d'études canadiennes de McGill (IECM) et le CREGÉS, ce webinaire de Patrik Marier, en conversation avec Daniel Béland avait lieu le 17 juin 2020. Cette discussion fait suite à l’article Les soins de longue durée sous la loupe.

ARTICLES DANS DES REVUES AVEC COMITÉ DE LECTURE

COVID-19 and long-term care policy for older people in Canada.

Béland, D. et Marier, P. (2020). Journal of Aging & Social Policy, 1-7.

Dans cet article, les auteurs utilisent les récents développements au Québec, où une tragédie dans un établissement de soins de longue durée agit comme un événement marquant dramatique. On y expose les problèmes auxquels sont confrontés les établissements de soins de longue durée, en tenant compte des héritages politiques existants et de la possibilité que cet événement facilite des réformes politiques systématiques à la suite de la pandémie du COVID-19.

Ageism and COVID-19: What does our society’s response say about us?

Fraser, S., Lagacé, M., Bongué B., Ndeye, N., Guyot, J., Bechard, L., Garcia, L., Taler, V., CCNA Social Inclusion and Stigma Working Group, Adam, S., Beaulieu, M., D Bergeron, C., Boudjemadi, V., Desmette, D., Donizzetti, A. R, Éthier, S., Garon,S., Gillis, M., Levasseur, M., Lortie-Lussier, M., Marier, P., Robitaille, A., Sawchuk, K., Lafontaine, C. et Tougas F. (2020). Age and Ageing. Sous presse.

L'objectif de ce commentaire est de souligner l'âgisme qui s'est manifesté lors de la pandémie de COVID-19. Plus de 20 chercheurs internationaux dans le domaine du vieillissement y ont contribué.

ARTICLES DANS DES REVUES SANS COMITÉ DE LECTURE

Les soins de longue durée sous la loupe.

Marier, P. et Béland, D. (2020). Options Politiques. Dossier : La pandémie de coronavirus : la réponse du Canada.

Dans cet article, les auteurs soulignent qu'il a fallu une crise d’une ampleur inédite pour que les conditions de vie des aînés en CHSLD mobilisent la classe politique. Il notent l'importance de développer une vision plus sociale et désinstitutionnalisée des soins de longue durée et dans une perspective comparée, il abordent la question des choix des provinces dans les soins de longue durée.